Echoes of Future Past: The Short Stories of H.P. Lovecraft

Echoes of Future Past: The Short Stories of H.P. Lovecraft

Genre: Audiobooks

Written by: H.P. Lovecraft

Narrated by: Margaret Ashley, Anthony Rudd


Total Duration: 1hrs 55mins 40s

Total Size: 162.222 MB

Release Date: 25/04/2024

In “Echoes of Future Past” H.P. Lovecraft weaves a tapestry of cosmic horror through a series of short stories that plunge his audience into the depths of the unknown. Each enhanced audio story serves as a gateway to the unfathomable, unveiling glimpses of malevolent entities, ancient secrets, and the fragility of the human mind.

“Dagon” introduces you to an unnamed protagonist who recounts a harrowing encounter with an otherworldly creature. Shipwrecked and stranded in a nightmarish landscape, the protagonist discovers a monstrous entity, Dagon, worshipped by a cult of aquatic beings. Lovecraft masterfully builds tension as the protagonist grapples with the horrifying implications of the encounter, hinting at the insignificance of humanity in the face of cosmic forces.

“The Cats of Ulthar” takes a departure from the maritime horrors of “Dagon” and delves into a quaint village where a dark decree forbids harming cats. The narrative follows an elderly couple who defy this decree, only to face supernatural consequences. Lovecraft’s tale explores themes of retribution and the arcane, underscoring the ominous consequences of disturbing the natural order.

“The Beast in the Cave” follows a character lost in a subterranean labyrinth, stumbling upon a mysterious creature. As fear and confusion escalate, the story unravels the fragility of the human psyche when confronted with the unknown. Lovecraft’s use of claustrophobic settings and psychological horror amplifies the narrative’s unsettling atmosphere.

In “The Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermin” Lovecraft introduces us to a mysterious and malevolent force that haunts the protagonist’s dreams. The tale blends elements of psychological horror with supernatural entities, blurring the line between reality and nightmares. Lovecraft’s exploration of the thin veil separating sanity and madness adds a chilling layer to this enigmatic narrative.

“From Beyond” delves into the consequences of unveiling hidden dimensions beyond human perception. The protagonist invents a machine that allows him to perceive these eldritch realms, exposing him to the lurking horrors that coexist with reality. Lovecraft’s narrative explores the perilous pursuit of forbidden knowledge and the unsettling consequences of peering into the cosmic unknown.

The collection culminates with “Nyarlathotep” a narrative that introduces us to an enigmatic and malevolent entity. Nyarlathotep traverses the globe, sowing chaos and madness wherever he goes. Lovecraft’s prose captures the cosmic horror of an ancient being indifferent to human suffering, emphasizing the insignificance of mankind in the grand tapestry of the universe.

“Echoes of Future Past” weaves together these tales, creating a cohesive exploration of Lovecraft’s cosmic horror themes. Through vivid descriptions, psychological depth, and a mastery of the macabre, Lovecraft invites you to confront the mysteries that lurk beyond the veil of reality, instilling a sense of unease that lingers long after the stories’ conclusion. This collection serves as a testament to Lovecraft’s enduring influence on the horror genre, inspiring generations of storytellers to delve into the cosmic unknown.

Narrator ( Margaret Ashley )

Narrator ( Anthony Rudd )

Music and Sound Design by Anthony Rudd

Download Now

Support independently made audio drama and audiobooks.

Audio Wave